- Liquor and Food Licenses
- Liquor Sales - New Establishments
Liquor Sales - New Establishments
Liquor License Overview
A license is a privilege granted by a municipality (city, village, or town) to a person (e.g., natural person, partnership, limited liability company, or corporation) that authorizes the sale of alcohol beverages for a specified time period. The license year runs from July 1 to June 30.
A new liquor license may be obtained by:
- Obtaining a surrender from a current license holder and taking over an existing establishment.
- Applying for a liquor license at a new location (Reach out to the Zoning Department at 920-448-3400).
For “Class B” Establishments: There is a quota of the number of liquor licenses the City of Green Bay may issue. The Clerk's Office Liquor Licensing Report is presented at each Protection & Policy Committee meeting. The report provides updated information regarding the number of liquor licenses available. If there are no longer available liquor licenses a license holder may apply for a reserve license for a $10,000 fee.
There are also certain areas within the City of Green Bay that may restrict the ability to obtain a liquor license. Please review Parcel Data to see if your location is in a moratorium area. If your location is in a moratorium area reach out to the Clerk’s Office at 448-3010 or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org to discuss. There may also be limitations if a location is within 300' of a school, church or hospital.
Type of Licenses
Class A - For Consumption Off Premises (Typically Gas Stations, Liquor Stores)
- Class "A" Beer: $400
- "Class A" Liquor :$400
- Class “A” Cider License: No Fee but must be applied for with Class “A” Beer License
- Cigarette: $100
Class B - For Consumption On Premises (Typically Bars, Restaurants)
- Class “B” Beer: $100
- “Class B” Liquor: $400
- “Class B” Liquor (Winery Only): $400
- “Class B” Reserve License $10,000 (if no available are left)
Class C - (Restaurants Only): $100
- Publication 302 - Wisconsin Alcohol Beverage and Tobacco Laws for Retailers
- FAQ’s: https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-atlicns.aspx
- Read our Chapter 4 Ordinance on Alcohol and Beverage Licensing
Applying for a New Liquor License
For New Liquor License Applicants please complete the following documents in its entirety:
- Original Alcohol Beverage Retail License Application (PDF)
- Liquor Auxiliary Questionnaire (PDF) for each person listed by each individual applicant, by each member of a partnership, and by each officer, director and agent of a corporation or nonprofit organization, and by each member/manager and agent of a limited liability company.
- Appointment of Agent (PDF) for corporations, nonprofit organization, or LLC
- Driver’s license or photo ID for each person required to fill out an auxiliary questionnaire
- Current Lease, option to purchase or option to lease
- For Individuals, Partners or Agents: Certification required “responsible beverage server” course https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Training/alcSellerServer.aspx (within the past two years) OR holds a current operator’s license (copy, issued in the last two years) OR proof of agency for another establishment
- Surrender Form (PDF) from present license holder (if one exist)s. There can only be one license holder at each address.
- Statement of Intent (PDF) with all appropriate signatures
- Wisconsin Seller’s Permit (copy)—Department of Revenue
- NOTE—the legal entity name on the seller’s permit must match the legal entity on the Original Alcohol Beverage Retail License Application
- Floor plan (Handwritten plans are acceptable)
- Picture of outdoor premise, if applicable
- Security Plan (Word Doc)
- $25 publication fee
Once compiled, call 448-3010 or e-mail email@example.com to setup an appointment with the Clerk/Deputy to review to documents. If documents are complete the Clerk’s Office can accept payment and begin the liquor license process, which takes approximately 4 to 6 weeks. As an applicant, you are expected to:
- Contact the Inspections Department at 448-3300 to setup a building, plumbing, HVAC and Electrical Inspections. All licenses granted are contingent upon the approval of this department.
- Be prepared to meet and review the business security plan with the Green Bay Police Department. They will reach out to schedule this appointment.
- Attend the Protection & Policy Committee Meeting. Notice will be sent via e-mail to attend this meeting, which typically occurs 2nd and 4th Monday of the month. A liquor license is placed on the agenda upon the applicant meeting with the Police Department and the Police Department background checks. The Protection & Policy Committee reviews the application and recommends approval/denial.
- Call the Brown County Health Department at 448-6400 to see if any licensing is required through their office.
- Come to the Clerk’s Office to pay and pickup the liquor license (all unpicked up license after 60 days are subject to revocation).
Need a liquor license sooner? You may be able to apply for a provisional license. Please review our Provisional License Fact Sheet for qualifications. If qualified, print and fill out the Provisional License Application (PDF). Return completed application to the Clerk's Office.